Kohlrabi Fries

Perhaps you have seen some spherical, alien-like vegetables at the farm this spring. These vegetables have one of the coolest names around: kohlrabi. Kohlrabi belongs to the brassica family, along with kale, broccoli, and all those other amazing superfoods!

Image

Kohlrabi can be enjoyed raw as well as cooked and you can even eat the greens (saute them much like you would the tops of beets or any other green!).

At the farm stand this morning, no one picked up any kohlrabi (hard to believe I know), so I took the opportunity to buy one myself!

I’m not overly adventurous, and so I prepared the kohlrabi in a fairly traditional way– I fried it. I found this recipe in a NY Times article that described 5 ways to prepare the vegetable.

I began by peeling the kohlrabi and slicing it into wedges. Then I sprinkled my slices with salt and then coated them in all-purpose flour.

Image

Then I heated about 4 tablespoons of oil in a non-stick pan and fried them for about 2 to 2 1/2 minutes on each side.

I removed the fries with a slotted spoon and placed them on a paper towel to absorb the excess oil.

Finally, I dusted the fries with a bit of cumin and paprika and dipped them into ketchup before eating!

Image

We’ll have a few more kohlrabi ready to harvest by next Saturday, so come on out to the farm between 10 am – noon to buy one or two of this delicious veggie!

 Happy eating, everyone!

                                        – Aylin

Leave a Reply

